jump to navigation

Happy Thanksgiving November 23, 2006

Posted by June in Blog.
trackback

It’s been a while. Too long, I guess. I haven’t written anything in the past several weeks.
Exhaustion is mostly to blame. Debating takes a lot out of me, especially when that person refuses to listen and ignores what I have to say; but it doubles even more when people start getting really nasty.

But this is Thanksgiving. This is a time to reflect on what we are most thankful for.
What am I thankful for?

Despite everything, I’m thankful for each and every one of my experiences, both good and bad. That’s what I’m most thankful for. Some of them have been scary; others have been frustrating; others have been exhausting; others have been emotionally draining; and still others have been downright painful.
But these are the things that make me who I am. Without them, I wouldn’t be me. I wouldn’t be as capable of appreciating the good things in life without them because such things are relative to the level of comfort that a person is accustomed to.

It never ceases to amaze me how the people with the most blessings, with the easiest life, are most often the people who don’t believe in God. Those are the people who say that God is uncaring and unfair.
No, God chastises. God gives us a dose of tough love because, sometimes, that is what is necessary to get our attention. He also trains certain people to endure in order to double their blessings later on in their lifetimes. And sometimes, He allows some people, such as the Apostles, to be persecuted or even killed to show others the strength of that person’s faith.

But if people refuse to believe in God, that’s their loss. I am thankful for my crutch, my ever present helper. I’m thankful for all of the good things in my life that I can truly appreciate and enjoy and all of the bad that allows me to truly enjoy them.

By the way, I am going to aim at writing an article on the Flood. I decided this a while ago; but I have been too exhausted to follow through.

’til then. 🙂

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

